American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA)

Anesthesiology Logo

American Board of Anesthesiology
4208 Six Forks Road, Suite 900
Raleigh, NC 27609
(866) 999-7501

Maintenance of Certification Part II Lifelong Learning & Self-Assessment Requirements

The Part II requirement is 250 credits of CME activities that meet the following criteria:

  • All credits must be Category 1 CME activities (ACCME/AMA PRA-approved)
  • No more than 70 credits per calendar year (completed between 2006 and 2012) will be credited toward the requirement
  • No more than 60 credits per calendar year (completed in or after 2013) will be credited toward the requirement
  • At least 20 credits of ABA-approved Patient Safety CME. To view a list of ABA-Approved Patient Safety CME, please click here.

Self-Assessment CMEs are no longer required. Diplomates who previously completed Self-Assessment CMEs will receive credit for them in MOCA 2.0, as will diplomates who complete Self-Assessment CMEs in the future.

Featured ABA MOC Activities

ABMS watermark

Fundamentals of Patient Safety is an interactive, online CME course covering patient safety principles, reinforced with anesthesia-specific scenarios and examples. Case studies, quizzes and exercises within the course provide ample opportunity to apply patient safety concepts to the practice of anesthesiology. This course helps fulfill the patient safety CME requirement for Part II of the ABA MOCA®.

Please Note:

The American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) requires that diplomates engage in MOC Part II Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment Activities to maintain their certification. This ABA Board page has been developed to increase access to practice relevant MOC activities that meet the individual learning of ABA diplomates. For more information regarding the ABA MOC program requirements, please visit Additional MOC resources located on the right side aim to assist ABA diplomates in fulfilling additional CME requirements for MOC. All links are associated with accredited CME providers.

Disclaimer – MOC Program requirements from the ABMS Member Boards is for general informational purposes only. The applicable MOC requirements are determined by each ABMS Member Board and may change from time to time. While every effort has been made to ensure that the information is correct, it is ultimately the responsibility of the user to confirm the applicable MOC requirements with the relevant ABMS Member Board(s).

Internet Point-of-Care

Internet point-of-care learning is a certified CME activity in which a physician engages in self-directed, online learning on topics relevant to their clinical practice

State CME Requirements

Subscribe to Our Quarterly Newsletter

Receive featured content & announcements!