American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM)

Internal Medicine Logo American Board of Internal Medicine
510 Walnut Street, Suite 1700
Philadelphia, PA 19106
(800) 441-2246

ABIM Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Medical Knowledge (Part II) Requirements

Earning Medical Knowledge MOC Points
To meet MOC requirements, ABIM Board Certified physicians must earn 100 points every five years, 20 of which must be in Medical Knowledge. View options for earning ABIM medical knowledge MOC points.


Submitting Medical Knowledge MOC activities for ABIM MOC Recognition
ABIM and the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) are collaborating to support physicians who are engaged in lifelong learning by enabling them to use Continuing Medical Education (CME) activities in completion of requirements for ABIM’s MOC program. CME providers accredited within the ACCME system may register activities for ABIM MOC recognition in the Provider and Activity Reporting System (PARS). For more information regarding the ABIM ACCME Collaboration for ABIM MOC activity approvals please click here.


ABIM does not recognize activities submitted for inclusion in the ABMS MOC Directory, unless they have also been reported to the ACCME  PARS system and registered as an activity for ABIM MOC recognition.  We encourage organizations to reach out to the ACCME for inclusion in PARS and recognition for ABIM medical knowledge MOC points.

Subscribe to Our Quarterly Newsletter

Receive featured content & announcements!